Reicha CD

18,0018,00 € each

We have your product in stock


Grampohone "These are infectious works, intended not to provoke but simply to delight, and in these elegantly shaped performances they do just that"

The Observer "satisfying and fun", "they respond to Reicha's easy-going charm with skill"

Track listing          

Quintet No. 3 in G Major, Op. 88:

1. I. Introductione: Lento - Allegro Assai

2. II. Andante

3. III. Menuetto: Allegro Vivo

4. IV. Finale: Allegro Vivace


5. Adagio in D minor 'pour le cor anglais'  


Quintet No. 6 in B-Flat Major, Op. 100:

6. I. Poco Adagio - Allegro

7. II. Andante Poco Adagio

8. III. Minuetto: Allegro Scherzo

9. IV. Finale: Andante - Allegro Assai

Album information   

Thalia Ensemble, whose prize-winning programme included works by Antoine Reicha, was praised by the jury for its beautiful ensemble sound, as well as the ensemble’s lively communication. The competition is renowned for launching the careers of many notable ensembles, such as Palladian Ensemble, Profeti della Quinta and Ensemble Meridiana.

Premiered in Paris in the early nineteenth century these works were an overnight sensation, recognized across Europe as the pinnacle of their genre. More than any other composer who wrote for winds, Reicha produced works that were hailed as worthy counterparts to the string quartet. An experienced flautist, Reicha was able to craft quintets that successfully integrated each wind instrument, employing its unique character and technical anomalies to full effect. As well as taking influence from his close acquaintances Haydn and Beethoven, Reicha’s melodic style is Mozartian in flavour, spiced with subtle chromatic tinges and quirky syncopations.

In addition to the quintets Reicha’s Adagio ‘pour le cor anglais’ is a fine addition to the programme.


Banktransfer, Paypal & Creditcard are accepted


  • Format:CD / Album

  • Label: Linn Records

  • Release Date:13/11/2015

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • EAN: 0691062047128